Virginia Law § 18.2-60.5 – Unauthorized use of electronic tracking device; penalty.
Any person who installs or places an electronic tracking device, through intentionally deceptive means, and without consent, or causes an electronic tracking device to be installed or placed through intentionally deceptive means and without consent, and uses such device to track the location of any person is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
A class 1 misdemeanor is punished by up to 1 year in jail and a $2500.00 fine under Virginia law.
The tracking law does not apply to police performing their duties or to parents of minor children. The code contains additional exemptions.