Virginia DWI & DUI Laws and Penalties: VA Law 18.2-266 Virignia drunk driving laws are outlined in VA Code 18.2-266, which criminalizes DUI, DWI, and DUID as misdemeanor and felony criminal offenses. Virginia classifies first offense and second offense DUI / DWI cases as class 1 Misdemeanor crimes, punishable by up to 1 year in […]
Tag Archives: DUI Lawyer in Alexandria
ALEXANDRIA DUI LAWYER CASE RESULT: Alexandria Charge under VA Code 18.2-266 for a DWI, BAC of .18, after a vehicle collision: the law requires a mandatory minimum jail time of 5 days if convicted as charged, a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail. Result: REDUCED to regular first offense DUI. NO JAIL TIME, just […]
FAIRFAX VIRGINIA ATTORNEY RESULT: Charge DROPPED for first DUI arrest under VA Code 18.2-266 after a car accident and blood test of .14 BAC.
VIRGINIA ATTORNEY RESULT: CEO client was arrested for a DUI under VA Code 18.2-266. Ms. Medvin was able to get the charge DROPPED at the first hearing due to insufficient evidence. Related Refusal charge resulted in loss of driving privileges in Virginia.
ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA: Second DUI arrest under VA Code 18.2-266, with an elevated BAC level of .19, and taking place 7 months after a prior DWI arrest in Prince William County, resulted in a DUI 1st conviction with only 5 days to serve, with the other standard DUI penalties. A related Driving on a Suspended License […]
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA IN ALEXANDRIA: After being convicted of a DUI/DWI offense, client violated his probation with a new alcohol offense conviction for the second time in one year. He received two weeks in a rehabilitation facility, but no jail time and no other amendments to his probation. […]
FAIRFAX VIRGINIA: Second offense in less than 5 years, class 1 misdemeanor DWI / DUI Drunk Driving charge (VA Code 18.2-266), with an elevated BAC of .16, which carried a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 30 days and a maximum of one year, was REDUCED to a first offense with only 5 days to serve. […]
Alexandria, Virginia: Client was charged with class 1 misdemeanor DWI / DUI Drunk Driving (VA Code 18.2-266) together with Refusal and a traffic violation. Client walked away with no active jail time, a fine of $300, and the standard DUI disposition of ASAP classes, and loss of license, with restricted privileges. A the Refusal charge […]
Alexandria, Virginia: Client was charged with class 1 misdemeanor DWI / DUI Drunk Driving (VA Code 18.2-266). The elevated BAC of .16 carried a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 5 days. (Under Virginia Law, all DUI charges with a BAC above .15 have a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 5 days.) Client was permitted to […]
ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia in Alexandria: 5 out of 6 Federal criminal charges were DISMISSED immediately, including Fleeing to Elude Police and Resisting Arrest with a plea to the drunk driving charge – 2nd DUI / DWI in 5 years. Instead of […]
Northern Virginia: Following multiple hit and run motor vehicle accidents, client confessed to the acts and to taking drugs prior to the accidents. Client was charged with Class 1 misdemeanor DWI / DUI Drunk Driving (VA Code 18.2-266). RESULT: DUI reduced to Reckless Driving with a fine of $500 and restricted driving privileges in VA […]
Virginia DWI Attorney Case Result: Following a serious motor vehicle accident, client was charged with Class 1 misdemeanor DWI / DUI Drunk Driving (VA Code 18.2-266) and a Refusal to take a breath or blood test. The DUI charge was DROPPED for insufficient evidence. The non-criminal infraction of Refusal to take a breath / blood […]