Tag Archives: 18.2-51.4

Vehicular Manslaughter & Maiming from Driving While Intoxicated | Virginia Law Explained 18.2-51.4 & 18.2-36.1

Virginia Maiming Charges – Va Law 18.2-51.4 Virginia law punishes the causation of bodily injuries as a result of driving while intoxicated as a class 6 felony entitled Maiming. Maiming is punished by up to 5 years in prison. Virginia law 18.2-51.4 states in relevant part: Any person who, as a result of driving while intoxicated […]

Virginia Hit and Run Laws, Penalties and Defenses for Charges in Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington

Hit and Run in Virginia: Leaving the Scene of an Accident What are hit and run laws in Virginia? Under Virginia law, a Hit and Run is defined as a criminal offense, and it is charged when you leave the scene of an accident without providing your insurance information to the other driver. The hit […]

Virginia Maiming Defense Attorney Explanation of Maiming Laws and Penalties

Maiming Defined and Explained Maiming is a class 6 Felony offense punished by up to 5 years in prison. Maiming is usually charged together with a DWI, driving while intoxicated. Maiming is a criminal negligence statute that punishes injuries caused by a vehicle collision when the driver is under the influence of alcohol. Any person […]