Tag Archives: 18.2-36.1

Fairfax Virginia Manslaughter Charges DISMISSED

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Client was charged with Involuntary Manslaughter under Va Code § 18.2-36.1 (penalty maximum – 10 years in prison) for allegedly driving drunk and causing a collision which resulted in the death of the other driver (initially charged as DUI after the collision, with charges later raised to Manslaughter upon Grand […]

Vehicular Manslaughter & Maiming from Driving While Intoxicated | Virginia Law Explained

Virginia Maiming Charges – Va Law 18.2-51.4 Virginia law punishes the causation of bodily injuries as a result of driving while intoxicated as a class 6 felony entitled Maiming. Maiming is punished by up to 5 years in prison. Virginia law 18.2-51.4 states in relevant part: Any person who, as a result of driving while intoxicated […]

Virginia Hit and Run Laws, Penalties and Defenses for Charges in Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington

Hit and Run in Virginia: Leaving the Scene of an Accident What are hit and run laws in Virginia? Under Virginia law, a Hit and Run is defined as a criminal offense, and it is charged when you leave the scene of an accident without providing your insurance information to the other driver. The hit […]

Virginia Firearm & Weapon Charges and Hunting Laws: Defense Lawyer’s Explanation of Brandishing, Reckless Handling of a Firearm, and Hunting Offenses

Virginia Firearms Offenses Penalty Table Description of Offense Code Section Criminal Classification Maximum Imprisonment Maximum Fine Brandishing firearm Va. Code 18.2-282 Class 1 Misdemeanor 12 Months $2,500.00 Fine Brandishing near School Va. Code 18.2-282 Class 6 Felony 5 Years $2,500.00 Fine Reckless handling of firearm Va. Code 18.2-56.1 Class 1 Misdemeanor 12 Months $2,500.00 Fine […]