Tag Archives: 18.2-308.2:2

Virginia Criminal Penalties For Firearm Dealers, Sellers and Buyers

Background Checks Required For Virginia Firearm Sales Virginia law now requires expansive background checks for all gun sales in Virginia (excluding transfers, such as trades and loans). Firearms dealers are guided by Va Law §18.2-308.2:2. Virginia State Police has 3 days to complete a criminal history check before a firearm can be transferred. Dealers may not […]

Virginia Law – Making a False Statement on Criminal History Consent Form When Purchasing Firearm

Making a False Statement on Criminal History Consent Form Virginia Code 18.2-308.2:2 outlines a Class 5 Felony offense for lying or making a false statement on a criminal history form when purchasing a firearm. This is a serious criminal offense punishable by up to 10 years of imprisonment in Virginia. This is most commonly applicable […]