Fairfax, Virginia
Reckless Driving Defense Attorney Case Result

A misdemeanor charge of Reckless Driving, Va Code 46.2-862, for speeding 100 MPM in Fairfax County, VA resulted in no jail time and no license suspension, only a $100 fine.

Related felony drug charge resulted in dismissal and related DUI with elevated BAC level also resulted in a reduction and no jail time.

Read more about Fairfax criminal defense attorney Marina Medvin, who represented this client and achieved this result.

Virginia Reckless Driving 46.2-862 / 46.2-852 Misdemeanor Speeding Laws, Penalties and Defenses – Explained by Criminal Defense Attorney

 

Click to Review All Reckless Driving Case Results

§ 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

A person is guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of 20 miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of 85 miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

§ 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties.

A. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
Best Lawyers in Virginia - Criminal Defense and DUI Law