VIRGINIA LAW ON DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE

Virginia law punishes driving behavior as a crime. If you drive in Virginia after your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, you will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor offense under VA Law 46.2-301 (shared by county code 82-1-6 in Fairfax). A third or subsequent offense occurring within a 10-year period also carries a mandatory minimum term of confinement in jail of 10 days.

Defenses include driving a vehicle in order to save life or limb, or not having notice of the suspension of revocation.

Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License, Review of Virginia Laws & Defenses

VIRGINIA LAW ON DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE Virginia law punishes driving behavior as a crime. If you drive in Virginia after your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, you will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor offense under VA Law 46.2-301 (shared by county code 82-1-6 in Fairfax). [...]

Read More
Pentagon DUI / DWI, Driving on Suspended License Results in DISMISSAL

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA FEDERAL UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT: Federal misdemeanor charges for DWI and DUI and associated misdemeanor charges at the Pentagon Reservation in Virginia under 32 CFR 234.17 resulted in DISMISSAL of the DWI charge, the Refusal to Submit to Breath Test, and the Driving on [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Reckless Driving Charge REDUCED to non-criminal Traffic Infraction in Alexandria Virginia

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 Misdemeanor Reckless Driving by speed 77/55  (Virginia Code 46.2-862) was reduced to a 3 point driving infraction – improper driving with a $75 fine. An additional charge of Operating an Uninspected Vehicle was dropped. Read more about Virginia Reckless Driving Law here: [...]

Read More
DISMISSED – Driving on Suspended License After DUI | Federal Criminal Offense

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA FEDERAL ATTORNEY RESULT UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA Federal charge for Driving on Suspended license after a Federal DUI conviction resulted in DISMISSAL of the charge. In the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia – Alexandria, VA.

Read More
Driving on Suspended License After DUI Suspension in Virginia

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Fairfax County VA Code 18.2-272 charge from a vehicle collision traffic accident, a Class 1 Misdemeanor, for Driving on a Suspended License after DUI Revocation for a DUI 2nd Offense, resulted in only 1 week in jail. Fairfax County General District Court at [...]

Read More
Alexandria VA Failure to Appear and Driving on Suspended License ALL CHARGES DROPPED

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Misdemeanor Driving on a Suspended License, Misdemeanor Failure to Appear First Offense, and Misdemeanor Failure to Appear Second Offense, were all DROPPED for insufficient evidence. In the City of Alexandria General District Court District Court at 520 King Street, Alexandria VA 22314.

Read More
Arlington Virginia DWI, BAC .29, Results in No Jail Time, Related Misdemeanor DROPPED

ARLINGTON DWI ATTORNEY RESULT: A Virginia first DUI offense with a BAC of .29 on the PBT on the was given standard first offender penalties and no active jail time. Related misdemeanor Driving on Suspended License – Third Offense, and traffic infraction charges were DROPPED.

Read More
Altered / Forged License Plate and Driving on Suspended License, ALL CHARGES DROPPED in Arlington VA

ARLINGTON VIRGINIA ATTORNEY RESULT: Misdemeanor charges for an Altered or Forged License Plate or Decals and for Driving on a Suspended License were both DROPPED due to lack of sufficient evidence. Arlington County General District Court at 1425 N. Courthouse Rd, Arlington, Virginia. Virginia Law Sections: § 46.2-722. Altered or [...]

Read More
Fairfax Virginia 2nd Offense Possession of Marijuana to be DISMISSED, 5th Reckless Driving Misdemeanor REDUCED, and Driving on Suspended Misdemeanor DROPPED

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY RESULT: 3 misdemeanor charges resulted as follows: Second charge for Possession of Marijuana (VA Code 18.2-250.1) will be DISMISSED after 1st Offender treatment, related 5th Reckless Driving by Speed misdemeanor charge (VA Code 46.2-862) was REDUCED to a regular speeding ticket at a reduced speed, [...]

Read More
2nd DUI in Alexandria Within 2 Months of 1st DWI in Fairfax Results in Minimum Jail Time

ATTORNEY RESULT, ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA: A second DUI Offense under VA Code 18.2-266, accompanied by four related misdemeanor and traffic infractions for Driving on Suspended License (VA Code 18.2-272) and the like, taking place within 2 months of the first DUI conviction in Fairfax Virginia, resulted in: only 20 days to [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Driving Without a License in Alexandria Virginia REDUCED to Infraction

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Repeat offender charged with misdemeanor Driving Without a License and a related infraction due to a car accident. The infraction was dismissed and the misdemeanor charge was amended to an infraction with a $10 fine, no license suspension and no jail time, notwithstanding [...]

Read More
NOT GUILTY of Impersonating Police Officer, No Jail Time for Brandishing Firearm in Alexandria Virginia

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Trial for Impersonating Law Enforcement Officer, Brandishing a Firearm (VA Code 18.2-282), and Driving on a Suspended License, resulted in a NOT GUILTY finding for the Impersonating Law Enforcement charge and the Driving on Suspended charge, and no active jail time for the [...]

Read More
Trial for Driving on Suspended License after DUI in Fairfax VA Results in REDUCTION of Charge

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Trial for Class 1 Misdemeanor Driving on a Suspended License after DUI Revocation in Fairfax County (VA Code 18.2-272) resulted in a REDUCTION of the charge to a Class 2 offense under Va Code 46.2-300, with just a $100 fine. Fairfax County General [...]

Read More
CHARGE DROPPED: Driving on a Suspended License in Alexandria Virginia Due to DUI Revocation

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: VA Code 46.2-301 Class 1 Misdemeanor Driving on a Suspended License after DUI License Revocation in another state was DROPPED at the first appearance. § 46.2-301. Driving while license, permit, or privilege to drive suspended or revoked. A. In addition to any other [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Driving on Suspended License 3rd Offense in Fairfax REDUCED to a 1st Offense w/ NO JAIL

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 Misdemeanor Third offense Driving on a Suspended license under 46.2-301, with a mandatory jail term of a minimum of 10 days in jail if found guilty, was REDUCED to a first offense charge with no active jail time and only a 29 [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Driving on Suspended License DROPPED and Speeding Ticket REDUCED in Arlington VA

ARLINGTON VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 misdemeanor charge of Driving on a Suspended / Revoked License, (which carries up to a year in jail under VA Code 46.2-301) was DROPPED due to improper notice. Speeding ticket was REDUCED to a lower speed with only a $25 fine.

Read More
CHARGES DROPPED: Class 1 Misdemeanor Driving on Suspended License Ticket in Alexandria VA

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 misdemeanor charge of Driving on a Suspended / Revoked License, (which carries up to a year in jail under VA Code 46.2-301) and related traffic ticket were both DROPPED.

Read More
Virginia Reckless Driving and Driving on a Suspended License Charges DROPPED, Plea to DUI

VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 Misdemeanor Reckless Driving / Speeding (VA Code 46.2-862) and Class 1 Misdemeanor Driving on a Suspended Driver’s License were DROPPED with a plea to the DUI / DWI charge (VA Code 18.2-266) with no additional jail time than the mandatory minimum time [...]

Read More
Virginia: Felony Eluding and Reckless Driving while DUI – 6 Charges DROPPED

VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: A repeat offender (with 12 prior felony and misdemeanor convictions) was charged with 8 total criminal offenses – felony endangerment / eluding police (VA Code 46.2-817), misdemeanor 2nd DUI in 5 years (VA Code 18.2-266), misdemeanor reckless driving (VA Code 46.2-852), misdemeanor driving on [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Larceny Charge DROPPED and Driving Charges Result in NO JAIL in Fairfax Virginia

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 Misdemeanor larceny charge of receiving stolen goods (VA Code 18.2-108) has been DROPPED, while the associated driving / vehicle Class 1 misdemeanor charges of Possessing Vehicle Title Issued to Another (VA Code 46.2-618) and Driving on a Suspended License (VA Code [...]

Read More
DUI Arrest in Fairfax Virginia Results in NO JAIL TIME

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Client was charged with a Drunk Driving violation (VA Code 18.2-266 – a class 1 misdemeanor offense) – with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .12. Under VA law, she was facing a mandatory license suspension for 12 months, up to 1 year [...]

Read More
DUI / DWI in Virginia BAC .18 and Reckless Driving Charges REDUCED / DISMISSED, 2 Days in Jail

VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Client was charged with a serious Drunk Driving violation (VA Code 18.2-266 – a class 1 misdemeanor offense) with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .18. Under VA law, he was facing a mandatory minimum of 5 days in jail for having a BAC [...]

Read More
Reckless Driving DROPPED down to a simple speeding ticket in the United States District Court in Alexandria

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Federal Misdemeanor Reckless Driving by Speed 70/40 on the George Washington Parkway was DROPPED with a plea to a speeding charge with NO JAIL, NO SUSPENSION OF LICENSE, and a fine, even though the client had a prior Federal criminal record for DUI [...]

Read More
2nd DUI in 5 Years in Fairfax Virginia, Refusal, Driving on Suspended License

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA DUI ATTORNEY RESULT: Client was facing 3 criminal charges: Misdemeanor DUI Second Offense (VA Code 18.2-266), Misdemeanor Refusal to Submit to a Breath / Blood test, and Misdemeanor Driving on Revoked License Pursuant to DUI conviction. The evidence in this case overwhelmingly favored the government, as the client [...]

Read More
Misdemeanor Driving on a Suspended Revoked License in Fairfax Virginia Charge DROPPED

FAIRFAX VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Class 1 Misdemeanor Charge of Driving on a Suspended / Revoked License (VA Code 46.2-301) was DROPPED for insufficient evidence to prosecute. Review all case results: Case Results

Read More
Federal Misdemeanor Charges and a Traffic Infraction REDUCED with NO JAIL in Alexandria Virginia

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Federal United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia Two misdemeanor traffic offenses – Driving on a Suspended License, No Operator’s License, and No license Plate charge, with a client who had a record of -8, plead to a single misdemeanor [...]

Read More
Federal Misdemeanor Reckless Driving Speeding Offense 98 MPH/40 MPH REDUCED to non-criminal Speeding

ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT: Misdemeanor Reckless Driving by Speed 98 MPH/40 MPH zone on the GW Parkway, a Federal charge in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia was dropped in exchange for a speeding charge with two days of weekend incarceration, seven [...]

Read More

 

§ 46.2-301. Driving while license, permit, or privilege to drive suspended or revoked.

A. In addition to any other penalty provided by this section, any motor vehicle administratively impounded or immobilized under the provisions of § 46.2-301.1 may, in the discretion of the court, be impounded or immobilized for an additional period of up to 90 days upon conviction of an offender for driving while his driver’s license, learner’s permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked for (i) a violation of § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, 18.2-272, or 46.2-341.24 or a substantially similar ordinance or law in any other jurisdiction or (ii) driving after adjudication as an habitual offender, where such adjudication was based in whole or in part on an alcohol-related offense, or where such person’s license has been administratively suspended under the provisions of § 46.2-391.2. However, if, at the time of the violation, the offender was driving a motor vehicle owned by another person, the court shall have no jurisdiction over such motor vehicle but may order the impoundment or immobilization of a motor vehicle owned solely by the offender at the time of arrest. All costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal or storage expenses, shall be paid by the offender prior to the release of his motor vehicle.

B. Except as provided in §§ 46.2-304 and 46.2-357, no resident or nonresident (i) whose driver’s license, learner’s permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked or (ii) who has been directed not to drive by any court or by the Commissioner, or (iii) who has been forbidden, as prescribed by operation of any statute of the Commonwealth or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city or town, to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth shall thereafter drive any motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment on any highway in the Commonwealth until the period of such suspension or revocation has terminated or the privilege has been reinstated or a restricted license is issued pursuant to subsection E. A clerk’s notice of suspension of license for failure to pay fines or costs given in accordance with § 46.2-395 shall be sufficient notice for the purpose of maintaining a conviction under this section. For the purposes of this section, the phrase “motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment” shall not include mopeds.

C. A violation of subsection B is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A third or subsequent offense occurring within a 10-year period shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement in jail of 10 days. However, the court shall not be required to impose a mandatory minimum term of confinement in any case where a motor vehicle is operated in violation of this section in a situation of apparent extreme emergency which requires such operation to save life or limb.

D. Upon a violation of subsection B, the court shall suspend the person’s license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle for the same period for which it had been previously suspended or revoked. In the event the person violated subsection B by driving during a period of suspension or revocation which was not for a definite period of time, the court shall suspend the person’s license, permit or privilege to drive for an additional period not to exceed 90 days, to commence upon the expiration of the previous suspension or revocation or to commence immediately if the previous suspension or revocation has expired.

E. Any person who is otherwise eligible for a restricted license may petition each court that suspended his license pursuant to subsection D for authorization for a restricted license, provided that the period of time for which the license was suspended by the court pursuant to subsection D, if measured from the date of conviction, has expired, even though the suspension itself has not expired. A court may, for good cause shown, authorize the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue a restricted license for any of the purposes set forth in subsection E of § 18.2-271.1. No restricted license shall be issued unless each court that issued a suspension of the person’s license pursuant to subsection D authorizes the Department to issue a restricted license. Any restricted license issued pursuant to this subsection shall be in effect until the expiration of any and all suspensions issued pursuant to subsection D, except that it shall automatically terminate upon the expiration, cancellation, suspension, or revocation of the person’s license or privilege to drive for any other cause. No restricted license issued pursuant to this subsection shall permit a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle as defined in the Commercial Driver’s License Act (§ 46.2-341.1 et seq.). The court shall forward to the Commissioner a copy of its authorization entered pursuant to this subsection, which shall specifically enumerate the restrictions imposed and contain such information regarding the person to whom such a license is issued as is reasonably necessary to identify the person. The court shall also provide a copy of its authorization to the person, who may not operate a motor vehicle until receipt from the Commissioner of a restricted license. A copy of the restricted license issued by the Commissioner shall be carried at all times while operating a motor vehicle.

F. Any person who operates a motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment in violation of the terms of a restricted license issued pursuant to subsection E of § 18.2-271.1 is not guilty of a violation of this section but is guilty of a violation of § 18.2-272.

§ 46.2-301.1. Administrative impoundment of motor vehicle for certain driving while license suspended or revoked offenses; judicial impoundment upon conviction; penalty for permitting violation with one’s vehicle.

A. The motor vehicle being driven by any person (i) whose driver’s license, learner’s permit or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked for a violation of § 18.2-51.4 or 18.2-272 or driving while under the influence in violation of § 18.2-266, 46.2-341.24 or a substantially similar ordinance or law in any other jurisdiction; (ii) driving after adjudication as an habitual offender, where such adjudication was based in whole or in part on an alcohol-related offense, or where such person’s license has been administratively suspended under the provisions of § 46.2-391.2; (iii) driving after such person’s driver’s license, learner’s permit or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked for unreasonable refusal of tests in violation of § 18.2-268.3, 46.2-341.26:3 or a substantially similar ordinance or law in any other jurisdiction; or (iv) driving without an operator’s license in violation of § 46.2-300 having been previously convicted of such offense or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city, or town or law in any other jurisdiction shall be impounded or immobilized by the arresting law-enforcement officer at the time the person is arrested for driving after his driver’s license, learner’s permit or privilege to drive has been so revoked or suspended or for driving without an operator’s license in violation of § 46.2-300 having been previously convicted of such offense or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city, or town or law in any other jurisdiction. The impoundment or immobilization for a violation of clauses (i) through (iii) shall be for a period of 30 days. The period of impoundment or immobilization for a violation of clause (iv) shall be until the offender obtains a valid operator’s license pursuant to § 46.2-300 or three days, whichever is less. In the event that the offender obtains a valid operator’s license at any time during the three-day impoundment period and presents such license to the court, the court shall authorize the release of the vehicle upon payment of all reasonable costs of impoundment or immobilization to the person holding the vehicle.

The provisions of this section as to the offense described in clause (iv) of this subsection shall not apply to a person who drives a motor vehicle with no operator’s license (i) whose license has been expired for less than one year prior to the offense or (ii) who is under 18 years of age at the time of the offense. The arresting officer, acting on behalf of the Commonwealth, shall serve notice of the impoundment upon the arrested person. The notice shall include information on the person’s right to petition for review of the impoundment pursuant to subsection B. A copy of the notice of impoundment shall be delivered to the magistrate and thereafter promptly forwarded to the clerk of the general district court of the jurisdiction where the arrest was made. Transmission of the notice may be by electronic means.

At least five days prior to the expiration of the period of impoundment imposed pursuant to this section or § 46.2-301, the clerk shall provide the offender with information on the location of the motor vehicle and how and when the vehicle will be released; however, for a violation of clause (iv) above, such information shall be provided at the time of arrest.

All reasonable costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal and storage expenses, shall be paid by the offender prior to the release of his motor vehicle. Notwithstanding the above, where the arresting law-enforcement officer discovers that the vehicle was being rented or leased from a vehicle renting or leasing company, the officer shall not impound the vehicle or continue the impoundment but shall notify the rental or leasing company that the vehicle is available for pickup and shall notify the clerk if the clerk has previously been notified of the impoundment.

B. Any driver who is the owner of the motor vehicle that is impounded or immobilized under subsection A may, during the period of the impoundment, petition the general district court of the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made to review that impoundment. The court shall review the impoundment within the same time period as the court hears an appeal from an order denying bail or fixing terms of bail or terms of recognizance, giving this matter precedence over all other matters on its docket. If the person proves to the court by a preponderance of the evidence that the arresting law-enforcement officer did not have probable cause for the arrest, or that the magistrate did not have probable cause to issue the warrant, the court shall rescind the impoundment. Upon rescission, the motor vehicle shall be released and the Commonwealth shall pay or reimburse the person for all reasonable costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal or storage costs paid or incurred by him. Otherwise, the court shall affirm the impoundment. If the person requesting the review fails to appear without just cause, his right to review shall be waived.

The court’s findings are without prejudice to the person contesting the impoundment or to any other potential party as to any proceedings, civil or criminal, and shall not be evidence in any proceedings, civil or criminal.

C. The owner or co-owner of any motor vehicle impounded or immobilized under subsection A who was not the driver at the time of the violation may petition the general district court in the jurisdiction where the violation occurred for the release of his motor vehicle. The motor vehicle shall be released if the owner or co-owner proves by a preponderance of the evidence that he (i) did not know that the offender’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked when he authorized the offender to drive such motor vehicle; (ii) did not know that the offender had no operator’s license and that the operator had been previously convicted of driving a motor vehicle without an operator’s license in violation of § 46.2-300 or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city, or town or law in any other jurisdiction when he authorized the offender to drive such motor vehicle; or (iii) did not consent to the operation of the motor vehicle by the offender. If the owner proves by a preponderance of the evidence that his immediate family has only one motor vehicle and will suffer a substantial hardship if that motor vehicle is impounded or immobilized for the period of impoundment that otherwise would be imposed pursuant to this section, the court, in its discretion, may release the vehicle after some period of less than such impoundment period.

D. Notwithstanding any provision of this section, a subsequent dismissal or acquittal of the charge of driving without an operator’s license or of driving on a suspended or revoked license shall result in an immediate rescission of the impoundment or immobilization provided in subsection A. Upon rescission, the motor vehicle shall be released and the Commonwealth shall pay or reimburse the person for all reasonable costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal or storage costs, incurred or paid by him.

E. Any person who knowingly authorizes the operation of a motor vehicle by (i) a person he knows has had his driver’s license, learner’s permit or privilege to drive a motor vehicle suspended or revoked for any of the reasons set forth in subsection A or (ii) a person who he knows has no operator’s license and who he knows has been previously convicted of driving a motor vehicle without an operator’s license in violation of § 46.2-300 or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city, or town or law in any other jurisdiction shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

F. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section or § 46.2-301, nothing in this section shall impede or infringe upon a valid lienholder’s rights to cure a default under an existing security agreement. Furthermore, such lienholder shall not be liable for any cost of impoundment or immobilization, including removal or storage expenses which may accrue pursuant to the provisions of this section or § 46.2-301. In the event a lienholder repossesses or removes a vehicle from storage pursuant to an existing security agreement, the Commonwealth shall pay all reasonable costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal and storage expenses, to any person or entity providing such services to the Commonwealth, except to the extent such costs or expenses have already been paid by the offender to such person or entity. Such payment shall be made within seven calendar days after a request is made by such person or entity to the Commonwealth for payment. Nothing herein, however, shall relieve the offender from liability to the Commonwealth for reimbursement or payment of all such reasonable costs and expenses.

§ 18.2-272. Driving after forfeiture of license.

A. Any person who drives or operates any motor vehicle, engine or train in the Commonwealth during the time for which he was deprived of the right to do so (i) upon conviction of a violation of § 18.2-268.3 or of an offense set forth in subsection E of § 18.2-270, (ii) by § 18.2-271 or 46.2-391.2, (iii) after his license has been revoked pursuant to § 46.2-389 or 46.2-391, or (iv) in violation of the terms of a restricted license issued pursuant to subsection E of § 18.2-271.1, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor except as otherwise provided in § 46.2-391, and is subject to administrative revocation of his driver’s license pursuant to §§ 46.2-389 and 46.2-391. Any person convicted of three violations of this section committed within a 10-year period is guilty of a Class 6 felony.

Nothing in this section or § 18.2-266, 18.2-270 or 18.2-271, shall be construed as conflicting with or repealing any ordinance or resolution of any city, town or county which restricts still further the right of such persons to drive or operate any such vehicle or conveyance.

B. Regardless of compliance with any other restrictions on his privilege to drive or operate a motor vehicle, it shall be a violation of this section for any person whose privilege to drive or operate a motor vehicle has been restricted, suspended or revoked because of a violation of § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, 18.2-268.3, 46.2-341.24, or a similar ordinance or law of another state or the United States to drive or operate a motor vehicle while he has a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent or more.

Any person suspected of a violation of this subsection shall be entitled to a preliminary breath test in accordance with the provisions of § 18.2-267, shall be deemed to have given his implied consent to have samples of his blood, breath or both taken for analysis pursuant to the provisions of § 18.2-268.2, and, when charged with a violation of this subsection, shall be subject to the provisions of §§ 18.2-268.1 through 18.2-268.12.

C. Any person who drives or operates a motor vehicle without a certified ignition interlock system as required by § 46.2-391.01 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and is subject to administrative revocation of his driver’s license pursuant to §§ 46.2-389 and 46.2-391.

§ 46.2-391.2. Administrative suspension of license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle.

A. If a breath test is taken pursuant to § 18.2-268.2 or any similar ordinance and (i) the results show a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more by weight by volume or 0.08 grams or more per 210 liters of breath, or (ii) the results, for persons under 21 years of age, show a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more by weight by volume or 0.02 grams or more per 210 liters of breath or (iii) the person refuses to submit to the breath test in violation of § 18.2-268.3 or any similar ordinance, and upon issuance of a petition or summons, or upon issuance of a warrant by the magistrate, for a violation of § 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, or 18.2-266.1, or any similar ordinance, or upon the issuance of a warrant or summons by the magistrate or by the arresting officer at a medical facility for a violation of § 18.2-268.3, or any similar ordinance, the person’s license shall be suspended immediately or in the case of (i) an unlicensed person, (ii) a person whose license is otherwise suspended or revoked, or (iii) a person whose driver’s license is from a jurisdiction other than the Commonwealth, such person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth shall be suspended immediately. The period of suspension of the person’s license or privilege to drive shall be seven days, unless the petition, summons or warrant issued charges the person with a second or subsequent offense. If the person is charged with a second offense the suspension shall be for 60 days. If not already expired, the period of suspension shall expire on the day and time of trial of the offense charged on the petition, summons or warrant, except that it shall not so expire during the first seven days of the suspension. If the person is charged with a third or subsequent offense, the suspension shall be until the day and time of trial of the offense charged on the petition, summons or warrant.

A law-enforcement officer, acting on behalf of the Commonwealth, shall serve a notice of suspension personally on the arrested person. When notice is served, the arresting officer shall promptly take possession of any driver’s license held by the person and issued by the Commonwealth and shall promptly deliver it to the magistrate. Any driver’s license taken into possession under this section shall be forwarded promptly by the magistrate to the clerk of the general district court or, as appropriate, the court with jurisdiction over juveniles of the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made together with any petition, summons or warrant, the results of the breath test, if any, and the report required by subsection B. A copy of the notice of suspension shall be forwarded forthwith to both (a) the general district court or, as appropriate, the court with jurisdiction over juveniles of the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made and (b) the Commissioner. Transmission of this information may be made by electronic means.

The clerk shall promptly return the suspended license to the person at the expiration of the suspension. Whenever a suspended license is to be returned under this section or § 46.2-391.4, the person may elect to have the license returned in person at the clerk’s office or by mail to the address on the person’s license or to such other address as he may request.

B. Promptly after arrest and service of the notice of suspension, the arresting officer shall forward to the magistrate a sworn report of the arrest that shall include (i) information which adequately identifies the person arrested and (ii) a statement setting forth the arresting officer’s grounds for belief that the person violated § 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, or 18.2-266.1, or a similar ordinance or refused to submit to a breath test in violation of § 18.2-268.3 or a similar ordinance. The report required by this subsection shall be submitted on forms supplied by the Supreme Court.

C. Any person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been suspended under subsection A may, during the period of the suspension, request the general district court or, as appropriate, the court with jurisdiction over juveniles of the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made to review that suspension. The court shall review the suspension within the same time period as the court hears an appeal from an order denying bail or fixing terms of bail or terms of recognizance, giving this matter precedence over all other matters on its docket. If the person proves to the court by a preponderance of the evidence that the arresting officer did not have probable cause for the arrest, that the magistrate did not have probable cause to issue the warrant, or that there was not probable cause for issuance of the petition, the court shall rescind the suspension, or that portion of it that exceeds seven days if there was not probable cause to charge a second offense or 60 days if there was not probable cause to charge a third or subsequent offense, and the clerk of the court shall forthwith, or at the expiration of the reduced suspension time, (i) return the suspended license, if any, to the person unless the license has been otherwise suspended or revoked, (ii) deliver to the person a notice that the suspension under § 46.2-391.2 has been rescinded or reduced, and (iii) forward to the Commissioner a copy of the notice that the suspension under § 46.2-391.2 has been rescinded or reduced. Otherwise, the court shall affirm the suspension. If the person requesting the review fails to appear without just cause, his right to review shall be waived.

The court’s findings are without prejudice to the person contesting the suspension or to any other potential party as to any proceedings, civil or criminal, and shall not be evidence in any proceedings, civil or criminal.

D. If a person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended under subsection A is convicted under § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, or 18.2-266.1, or any similar ordinance during the suspension imposed by subsection A, and if the court decides to issue the person a restricted permit under subsection E of § 18.2-271.1, such restricted permit shall not be issued to the person before the expiration of the first seven days of the suspension imposed under subsection A.

§ 46.2-395. Suspension of license for failure or refusal to pay fines or costs.

A. Any person, whether licensed by Virginia or not, who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth shall thereby, as a condition of such driving, consent to pay all lawful fines, court costs, forfeitures, restitution, and penalties assessed against him for violations of the laws of the Commonwealth; of any county, city, or town; or of the United States. For the purpose of this section, such fines and costs shall be deemed to include any fee assessed by the court under the provisions of § 18.2-271.1 for entry by a person convicted of a violation of § 18.2-51.4 or § 18.2-266 into an alcohol safety action program.

B. In addition to any penalty provided by law, when any person is convicted of any violation of the law of the Commonwealth or of the United States or of any valid local ordinance and fails or refuses to provide for immediate payment in full of any fine, costs, forfeitures, restitution, or penalty lawfully assessed against him, or fails to make deferred payments or installment payments as ordered by the court, the court shall forthwith suspend the person’s privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth. The driver’s license of the person shall continue suspended until the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty has been paid in full. However, if the defendant, after having his license suspended, pays the reinstatement fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles and enters into an agreement under § 19.2-354 that is acceptable to the court to make deferred payments or installment payments of unpaid fines, costs, forfeitures, restitution, or penalties as ordered by the court, the defendant’s driver’s license shall thereby be restored. If the person has not obtained a license as provided in this chapter, or is a nonresident, the court may direct in the judgment of conviction that the person shall not drive any motor vehicle in Virginia for a period to coincide with the nonpayment of the amounts due.

C. Before transmitting to the Commissioner a record of the person’s failure or refusal to pay all or part of any fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty or a failure to comply with an order issued pursuant to § 19.2-354, the clerk of the court that convicted the person shall provide or cause to be sent to the person written notice of the suspension of his license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle in Virginia, effective 15 days from the date of conviction, if the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty is not paid prior to the effective date of the suspension as stated on the notice. Notice shall be provided to the person at the time of trial or shall be mailed by first-class mail to the address certified on the summons or bail recognizance document as the person’s current mailing address, or to such mailing address as the person has subsequently provided to the court as a change of address. If so mailed on the date of conviction or within five business days thereof, or if delivered to the person at the time of trial, such notice shall be adequate notice of the license suspension and of the person’s ability to avoid suspension by paying the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty prior to the effective date. No other notice shall be required to make the suspension effective. A record of the person’s failure or refusal and of the license suspension shall be sent to the Commissioner if the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty remains unpaid on the effective date of the suspension specified in the notice or on the failure to make a scheduled payment.

C1. Whenever a person provides for payment of a fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution or penalty other than by cash and such provision for payment fails, the clerk of the court that convicted the person shall cause to be sent to the person written notice of the failure and of the suspension of his license or privilege to drive in Virginia. The license suspension shall be effective 10 days from the date of the notice. The notice shall be effective notice of the suspension and of the person’s ability to avoid the suspension by paying the full amount owed by cash, cashier’s check or certified check prior to the effective date of the suspension if the notice is mailed by first class mail to the address provided by the person to the court pursuant to subsection C or § 19.2-354. Upon such a failure of payment and notice, the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution or penalty due shall be paid only in cash, cashier’s check or certified check, unless otherwise ordered by the court, for good cause shown.

D. If the person pays the amounts assessed against him subsequent to the time the suspended license has been transmitted to the Department, and his license is not under suspension or revocation for any other lawful reason, except pursuant to this section, then the Commissioner shall return the license to the person on presentation of the official report of the court evidencing the payment of the fine, costs, forfeiture, restitution, or penalty.

E. Any person otherwise eligible for a restricted license may petition each court that suspended his license pursuant to this section for authorization for a restricted license. A court may, upon written verification of employment and for good cause shown, authorize the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue a restricted license to operate a motor vehicle for any of the purposes set forth in subsection E of § 18.2-271.1. No restricted license may be issued unless each court which suspended the person’s license pursuant to this section provides authorization for a restricted license. Such restricted license shall not be issued for more than a six-month period. No restricted license issued pursuant to this subsection shall permit a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle as defined in the Commercial Driver’s License Act (§ 46.2-341.1 et seq.).

The court shall forward to the Commissioner a copy of its authorization entered pursuant to this section, which shall specifically enumerate the restrictions imposed and contain such information regarding the person to whom such a license is issued as is reasonably necessary to identify the person. The court shall also provide a copy of its authorization to the person, who may not operate a motor vehicle until receipt from the Commissioner of a restricted license. A copy of the restricted license issued by the Commissioner shall be carried at all times while operating a motor vehicle. Any person who operates a motor vehicle in violation of any restrictions imposed pursuant to this section shall be punished as provided in subsection C of § 46.2-301.

 

Best Lawyers in Virginia - Criminal Defense and DUI Law