CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY CASE RESULT:
Class 5 Felony hit and run charge under Va Law § 46.2-894 for leaving the scene of an accident was REDUCED to a misdemeanor with a $200 fine. Related Reckless Driving charge for the collision was DISMISSED.
Va Law § 46.2-894. Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is killed or injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged shall immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible without obstructing traffic, as provided in § 46.2–888, and report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number forthwith to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency, to the person struck and injured if such person appears to be capable of understanding and retaining the information, or to the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with or to the custodian of other damaged property. The driver shall also render reasonable assistance to any person injured in such accident, including taking such injured person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary or is requested by the injured person.
Where, because of injuries sustained in the accident, the driver is prevented from complying with the foregoing provisions of this section, the driver shall, as soon as reasonably possible, make the required report to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency and make a reasonable effort to locate the person struck, or the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with, or the custodian of the damaged property, and report to such person or persons his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number.
Any person convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of (i) a Class 5 felony if the accident results in injury to or the death of any person, or if the accident results in more than $1000 of damage to property or (ii) a Class 1 misdemeanor if the accident results in damage of $1000 or less to property.
Arlington Defense Attorney Marina Medvin represented the accused and obtained this result.
Read more about Virginia Hit and Run Law: Virginia Hit and Run Laws, Penalties and Defenses for Charges in Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington.Click to Review All Virginia Hit and Run Case Results