4th DUI arrest under Va DUI Law 18.2-266, which can be charged as a felony, instead resulted in a plea deal on a misdemeanor DUI charge as a 1st offense with a penalty of only 5 days in jail (a mandatory minimum penalty for a BAC level greater than .15).
Virginia law states: The punishment of any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense of § 18.2-266 committed within a 10-year period shall, upon conviction, include a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of one year. In addition, such person shall be fined a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000.
Alexandria DWI Attorney Marina Medvin represented the accused in the City of Alexandria General District Court at 520 King Street, Alexandria Virginia 22314.
Read more about Alexandria DUI Law: Virginia DUI Laws, Penalties and Defenses Explained by DWI Attorney for Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington.Click to Review All DUI / DWI Case Results