Posts Tagged ‘46.2-894’
ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA: Felony Hit & Run Charge – Failure to Stop at Scene of Accident (VA Code § 46.2-894) was reduced to a misdemeanor charge with 30 days of modified work release in lieu of an incarcerated jail sentence, and a fine of $100. Related Driving on Suspended charge was dropped.
ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA: In order to avoid Felony prosecution, client plead guilty to a misdemeanor Hit & Run Charge (VA Code § 46.2-894) without active jail time, together with Driving on Suspended license charge.
PRINCE WILLIAM COUNTY / MANASSAS, VIRGINIA: Misdemeanor Hit & Run Charge (VA Code § 46.2-894) was DROPPED.
Arlington, Virginia: A Class 5 Felony Hit and Run car accident (VA Code 46.2-894) with two witnesses, while driving drunk for the second time in 5 years (VA Code 18.2-266), and a confession to both acts – has resulted in only 30 active days in jail on all charges (together with some other conditions and restrictions), even though the client had 4 prior criminal convictions on his record. Client was facing a maximum of 11 years in prison on both charges.
Virginia Hit and Run Laws and Defenses for Charges in Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington, Falls Church, and Prince William
The author, Marina Medvin, is a passionate trial attorney who focuses her practice exclusively on criminal defense. She advocates for her clients in Federal and Virginia State courthouses on a daily basis. Ms. Medvin is presently accepting clients for criminal cases pending in Alexandria, Fairfax, Arlington, Falls Church, Prince William, and in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia in Alexandria.
DRIVER AND PASSENGER RESPONSIBILITY AFTER AN ACCIDENT
Virginia law imposes an affirmative duty on all drivers and passengers to report accidents. Failure to do so can lead to a criminal conviction.
The following is a list of drivers’ obligations under VA law:
1. Stop your vehicle as close to the scene as possible (without obstructing traffic) as soon as reasonably possible after the accident
|| Read more